Generic filters
HABC Level 3 Award in Risk Assessment

The Highfield Level 3 Award in Risk Assessment (RQF) has been developed and is awarded by Highfield Qualifications and sits on the Regulated Qualifications Framework (RQF). The RQF is a qualification framework regulated by Ofqual and CCEA Regulation. The qualification is also regulated by Qualifications Wales.

target audience

This qualification is designed for learners with a responsibility to conduct risk assessments at low risk premises.

course details
3 days English or Hindi HABC
  *Please notify us if an interpretation is required *Validity: No Expiry
course benefits/ progression opportunities
Course objective

The objective of the qualification is to support a role in the workplace as a risk assessor. This qualification is designed for learners with a responsibility to conduct risk assessments at low risk premises. It covers the principles of risk assessment, the relationship between hazard and risk and requires learners use the knowledge learned on the course by undertaking a risk assessment. Therefore, laying a foundation for further development as a risk assessor.

Progression opportunities

On successful completion of this qualification, learners may wish to continue their development by undertaking one of the following qualifications:

  • Highfield Level 3 Award in Health and Safety in the Workplace (RQF)
  • Highfield Level 4 Award in Health and Safety in the Workplace (RQF)
Appendix 1: Qualification structure

To complete the Highfield Level 3 Award in Risk Assessment (RQF), learners must complete the 1 mandatory unit below: 

Unit ReferenceUnit TitleLevelGLHCredit
F/502/8528The Principles of Practice of Risk Assessment3142
The Learner WillThe Learner Can
1. Understand why risk assessments are necessary for ensuring health and safety standards in the workplace

1.1 Define key terms associated with risk assessment in the workplace including: 

  • hazard 
  • risk 
  • accident 
  • near miss 
  • accident triangle 
  • risk assessment 
  • risk control hierarchy 
  • suitable and sufficient 
  • competence 

1.2 State the main causes of work-related fatalities, injuries, and ill-health
1.3 Outline the main reasons for preventing accidents and ill health at work 
1.4 Outline the role of risk assessment in accident and ill-health prevention

2. Understand the principles of risk assessment2.1 Outline the requirements for risk assessment 
2.2 Outline a simple process for undertaking a risk assessment 
2.3 Outline a method that can be used to prioritise risks 
2.4 Outline requirements for providing information on the results of risk assessments

This qualification is assessed in two parts:

Part 1: Multiple-choice question (MCQ) examination.Part 2: Centre-set and marked assessment
This method of assessment is an end-of-course exam and must follow the Highfield Qualifications Examination and Invigilation Procedures. The examination for this qualification contains 30 questions that must be completed within 60 minutes. Successful learners must achieve a score of at least 20 out of 30. Completed examination papers should be returned to Highfield Qualifications for marking. Results will then be provided to the centre afterwards.Learners are expected to undertake a risk assessment, which will be internally set and assessed by the centre and externally moderated by Highfield. The risk assessment activity is an opportunity for learners to fully understand and demonstrate the risk assessment process. Learners must follow the 5-step process to risk assessment.
13 Nov 202008:00-15:00 (Qatar)
25 Dec 202008:00-15:00 (Qatar)
Related Courses